Lovin’ Life

Just lovin’ my life with Jesse

Unchained Melody November 12, 2008

Filed under: life in general,reflection,videos — Lois Sparks @ 12:37 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Oh, my love, my darling,
I’ve hungered for your touch a long, lonely time,
Time goes by so slowly and time can do so much.
Are you still mine?
I need your love, I need your love, God speed your love to me.

Lonely rivers flow to the sea, to the sea
To the open arms of the sea
Lonely rivers sigh, ‘Wait for me, wait for me’
‘I’ll be coming home, wait for me!’

Are you still mine?
I need your love, I need your love, God speed your love to me

This was sung by the Righteous Brothers. I think I was 5 or 6 years old when I told my parents this is my favorite song. I could understand a little English then and all I remember was that the singer was missing his loved one.

I just finished cleaning the last parts of our apartment (bathroom, fridge, oven, stove, floor, carpet, kitchen sink) half an hour ago (1:30pm) for our “white glove” today. I have been cleaning our apartment little by little since last Saturday (except Sunday). I am sooo tired, so I just continued listening to my “wedding” playlist on my imeem account (which I have been playing since I started cleaning our apartment at 10am today). This playlist includes all the songs I chose for our wedding reception, even though our dj didn’t play all of them. 

My last Sunday.. 2 days before leaving Philippines

My last Sunday.. 2 days before leaving Philippines

I was reading my mom’s email to me about how to clean a tilapia (good thing I did it right) while our songs were playing.  While reading her email, this song played & it just felt like it’s digging my heart for what I really feel once in a while whenever I remember I haven’t been home for a long time now.

 

I really really really do miss home so much. Having been away for over 4 years now, I think I’ve been a pro in dealing with feeling homesick. But who knows how long I can be good at it. Maybe someday I’ll just break down and cry like a baby… but for now, I’ll do my best to be strong while waiting for that day that I can be with my parents and siblings again.

 

4 Responses to “Unchained Melody”

  1. shey Says:

    haha! this was my mom and dad’s song! It’s crazy how a certain song can really get into you, huh? Micah loves listening to this radio station that just plays CHRISTMAS songs..It drives me nuts! I miss home too!

  2. Ma Says:

    We miss you too, Nak, and we look forward, too, to seeing you and us being together again, even if it were just for a visit. No worries! Even if this does not happen yet, we fill our longing by reminiscing happy days when you were still here with us and by reminding ourselves that it was not by chance that you now there. 🙂

    I do cry, though, when I am alone and I feel like it to unburden myself of the loneliness. It helps. However, I see to it that it does not take me long crying. Hehe. Love you!

  3. Ma Says:

    One of those happy days that we reminisce is when we hear you sing this song (Unchained Melody – I am listening to it right now). Yes, you were still a child, and it was so nice seeing you and hearing your sweet voice sing this song. It brings smile to our faces.

    Another is the way you sing “Some day my prince will come. Some day my prince will come. ………. Hahahahaha hahahhaha.” Your brothers always imitate you, and we all have fun!

    Another is the way you imitate (who was that?) – “Precious.”

    It is such a joy remembering you here with us, Nak.

    Love you!

  4. Nate and Sam Says:

    i miss home too..I don’t remember any specific songs but there is this one cd that my dad always listen to in the car, which always reminds me of him…gosh..,don’t worry we’re here for you..we’ll see our family again,….


Leave a Reply

